Reality Check

They crunch your calories, calculate your distance and tabulate your heart rate, but just how accurate are those exercise machines on the floor of every gym?

Who’s right?

This morning, during my dreaded 0500 fasted cardio session (me vs. elliptical machine), I decided to conduct a little science experiment.

Which is more accurate?  My Polar A360 (see my “Product Reviews”) or the elliptical machine?

I came up with mixed reviews after doing some online research (because the interweb is all-knowing). <insert eye roll>

Some reports were much higher with the HRM and some with the cardio machine. Taking into account that my Polar doesn’t have a chest strap for accuracy.

Most reports indicated cardio machines that can pick up your heart rate don’t usually have enough information (e.g. resting heart rate) to do the proper calculations.

According to a recent article in Men’s Health magazine:

“To get the best gauge of how many calories you’re burning in every workout session, you need a heart rate monitor. Never rely solely on your machine’s counter. “Most aren’t accurate for about 20% of the population,” says Joe Stankowski, a C.P.T. from Grand Rapids, Mich. Even on high-tech equipment, little things can screw up the counter. “Sometimes, it’s as simple as how you grip the handles,” says Rodriguez. “If you hold on too tightly, the measurement will run too low. If you hold on loosely, it may be much higher.”

This article from My Fitness Pal  (I use this every day!)  was also  helpful.

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/blog/Azdak/view/exercise-calories-sometimes-the-cardio-machines-are-more-accurate-404739

Personally, I think I’ll stick with my HRM.
Why?….Probably because it makes me work harder and is calibrated to My Fitness Pal .
Tomorrow I’ll compare the fat burn %.

Stay tuned and stay strong!!!

Leave a comment