A Nod from the BodPod

My palms were sweaty. I was nervous.  I don’t know which is worse- waiting your turn for your yearly  Gyno check-up  and hearing for the millionth time  “Well…you’re at THAT age…” or this?

What was I so afraid of? What is it exactly?
The BOD POD is, after all, “the most accurate body fat assessment known to determine body composition (fat vs. lean). Similar in principle to underwater weighing, the BOD POD measures body mass (weight) using a very precise scale, and volume by sitting inside the BOD POD.” 

It takes less than 6 minutes from the time you tip the lying scale. I swear to GOD I was 4 pounds lighter this morning. Even with the 3 trips to the bathroom since I got there. Are you serious?

“Hi.  My name is Mary and I’m addicted to the scale…”

I stripped to almost nothing, baring no shame…I was not gonna let one ounce of fabric skew the results. I have worked my buns off (literally) since my last
BOD POD appointment-4 months ago-almost to the day.  download

My first appointment was January 2010, the beginning of my weight loss journey. What an eye opener.  I had gone with one of the most fit friends I had at the time, which of course, added shakers of salt to the wounds.
I remember she complained all the way home about how much more she should be doing, eating better, etc.  All I could think was, “Are you joking me right now? I am one clog away from meeting my maker!” I had to get busy and, truthfully, was scared to (almost) death!

I, of course, took it to the extreme.  I joined a gym and was a self-professed cardio addict. Kickboxing, running, swimming, spin class…2-3 times a day.  I ran  5ks, 10ks, tri’s, whatever I could sign up for. I signed up for a bike tour on the HOTTEST day in July (108) and completed 50 miles.  Who does that??? Oh and btw…I was still eating like crap-just not as much.  Bread, pasta, pizza, beer wine–after all, I was just running it all off, right???

April 2012, my second BOD POD assessment was as scary as the first for much different reasons.  I had become an unhealthy 107 lbs.  Believe me, it was NOT a good look. I was obsessed with the scale. However, I was happy with the results-at the time. Although I didn’t clearly understand them.  I had a physical soon after, and my doctor warned me if I lost another pound he would hospitalize me.

I couldn’t win. I knew I wanted to keep the weight off.  I had come so far and worked so fricken hard.  I was proud of my accomplishments.  After all, until 2010, I don’t ever think I ran a mile——–ever.  Sure, I biked, walked the dogs, snowshoed, skied,  and would swim (more like splash at the beach while tanning), but nothing gave me the adrenaline rush that this new cardio addiction sparked in me.

Sweat!  I needed to sweat in order to see results, and I wasn’t stopping until  was dripping!

Since 2012, I have had 2 more “come to Jesus” appointments with the BOD POD.  After educating myself and joining a totally different gym that concentrates on weight lifting, HIIT classes, and still has some cardio equipment and other “toys” sprinkled in for fun. I couldn’t just turn my back on cardio. Make the clean break…“its me, not you cardio”….

I’ve gone through two very patient, supportive, and knowledgeable trainers in the last few years. I don’t know where I’d be without them. I have a great support system of friends, (which is very important), and  I’ve learned to eat clean, control my emotional eating, and exercise regularly. Okay, daily…alright, sometimes 2-3x a day. (I can feel the scowl of my trainers as they read this.)

My BOD POD report last night was better than I had expected.  I was hoping for any positive change.  I knew it wasn’t going to be the caliper readings I had seen a couple of weeks ago-that gave me false hope. But at the same time, I was realistic going into this.

I’m  optimistic with my results but realize positive changes don’t happen over night. I still have miles to go. To be honest, I’m not even sure what a lot of the numbers mean on the report (i.e. thoracic volume, RHR, etc.).  I know I’ve gone from “excess fat” to “moderately lean.”  Lean being the key word here people!!!

 

 

I’m still addicted, although not nearly as much as I was, to the scale. I’m more attached to my Polar HRM now (the lesser of two evils), and  I still need the cardio fix. I feel good about how I’m fueling my body.  I also realize that I need to listen to it when my body requires sleep. That’s a topic for another blog post. Zzzzzzzz!!!!

Stay strong!

How does the BodPod work?

Leave a comment